Dr. Kiran Kumar receives IESA Technovation Sarabhai Award for 2016

NEW DELHI: India Electronics and Semiconductor Association (IESA), the premier trade body, representing the Indian electronic system design and manufacturing (ESDM) today announced the winners of Technovation Awards 2016 held at Vision Summit 2017, the annual flagship event from IESA.

In its 12th edition, IESA felicitated individuals and companies who have displayed innovation and leadership through their work in the field of Electronics System Design and Manufacturing (ESDM).

The winners were felicitated at an evening gala function. Umesh Prasad Sah, Director, IT, Govt. of Jharkhand, Shailendra Shailendra Kumar Tyagi, Director, STPI, Bangalore, Rajeev Khushu Director GR Strategy and Corporate Affairs at Texas Instruments. and Mr. K Krishna Moorthy, Chairman IESA, presented the prestigious IESA Technovation Awards 2016 for excellence in Electronics System Design and Manufacturing across various categories. Prof. Partha Pratim Chakrabarti, Director IIT Kharagpur won the TechnoVisionary – Life Time Achievement Award for his outstanding contribution in the field of algorithms, AI and CAD for VLSI design.

The highlight this year, was the IESA Technovation Sarabhai Award, which was awarded to Dr. Kiran Kumar, Chairman, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), for his outstanding contribution to India’s space program. He has been instrumental in bringing Indian space innovation to the forefront for which he has also been recognized by the Govt. of India, which awarded him the Padma Shri in 2014.

This year, the Most Promising Startup award, one of the most sought after award category at Technovation went to Cyclops Medtech Pvt. Ltd. and Sagar Defense Engineering Pvt Ltd. The former is a Bangalore based start-up working extensively in the areas of eye tracking and vestibular science. Whereas the latter provides new innovations and complete Unmanned Marine Vehicles solutions in Commercial, Defence, & Scientific sector.

Congratulating the winners, K Krishna Moorthy, Chairman, IESA commented, “It is our immense pleasure to host Technovation awards year after year culminating in new benchmarks every year. It has become a high profile achievement for those innovators who create the most unique solutions that can bolster India’s ESDM future. We hope we can motivate even the small scale Indian companies who are creating products and solutions and those in academia whose research provide the backbone for technological innovation and IP development.”

M N Vidyashankar, President, IESA commented on this annual felicitation, “The ESDM market in India today is moving at a fast pace. Our aim is to recognize those champions who are actively pushing the innovation boundaries and creating a new standard, through pioneering ideas and products. Technovation was started with the intention of bringing these bright minds to the forefront. We are also proud to honor the contributions of Dr. Kiran Kumar, a visionary, who has made India the most globally competitive destination for launch of satellites. ISRO today is a household name in India and in the elite space club of the world.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *